My List

This feature is for registered users only. Please signup today for free.

My List

This feature is for registered users only. Please signup today for free.

University of Notre Dame

Academic Year: 
2019 - 2020

Department Name

Department of Philosophy

Department Chair

Meghan Sullivan,
Rev. John A. O'Brien Collegiate Chair and Professor of Philosophy

Degrees Offered

Ph.D., Non-Terminal Masters

Areas of Specialization Offered

Metaphysics and Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Action, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mathematics, Logic, Early Modern Philosophy (17th & 18th Century), Continental/European Philosophy (including Kant), History of Philosophy, Medieval and Renaissance Philosophy, 19th/20th Century Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy

Financial Aid

Teaching Fellowships:
Non-Teaching Fellowships:
Teaching Assistantships:
Students teaching their own classes:
Other Financial Information:



Robert Audi, John A. O'Brien Professor of Philosophy
Feraz Azhar, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Timothy Bays, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Sara Bernstein, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Laura Callahan, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Therese Cory, John and Jean Oesterle Associate Professor of Thomistic Studies
Richard Cross, Rev. John A. O'Brien Professor of Philosophy
Brian Cutter, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Michael Detlefsen, McMahon-Hank Professor of Philosophy
Shane Duarte, Assistant Professor of the Practice
Stephen Dumont, Professor of Philosophy
Thomas Flint, Professor of Philosophy
Curtis Franks, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Elizabeth Fricker, Visiting Professor
Don Howard, Professor of Philosophy
Alexander Jech, Associate Professor of the Practice
Rev. John Jenkins, Professor of Philosophy; President, University of Notre Dame
Sean Kelsey, Rev. John A. O'Brien Associate Professor
Janet Kourany, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Katharina Kraus, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Kristopher McDaniel, Professor of Philosophy
Samuel Newlands, William J. and Dorothy K. O'Neill Collegiate Professor in Philosophy
Daniel Nolan, McMahon-Hank Professor of Philosophy
John O'Callaghan, Associate Professor of Philosophy
David O'Connor, Professor of Philosophy
Machael Rea, Rev. John A. O'Brien Professor of Philosophy
Blake Roeber, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Hannah Rubin, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Fred Rush, Professor of Philosophy
Christopher Shields, George N. Shuster Professor of Philosophy
Jeff Speaks, Professor of Philosophy
James Sterba, Professor of Philosophy
Meghan Sullivan, Rev. John A. O'Brien Collegiate Chair and Professor of Philosophy
Nicholas Teh, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Peter van Inwagen, Regular Visitor
Ted A. Warfield, Professor of Philosophy
Stephen Watson, Professor of Philosophy
Paul Weithman, Glynn Family Honors Professor of Philosophy



Program Strengths

The philosophy department at Notre Dame combines pluralism with a commitment to the clarity and rigor of analytic philosophy. It is also marked by an enduring sense that philosophy is not simply about the narrower questions that occasionally seem to preoccupy academic philosophy and thus strives to maintain a balance between professionalism and the exploration of those bigger questions that have been philosophy's traditional concern. Particular areas of strength include the history of philosophy (in all areas, from ancient through medieval and early modern and Kantian and post-Kantian philosophy to 20th century analytic and Continental philosophy), metaphysics, epistemology, logic, philosophy of action, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, and philosophy of mathematics.

Student Demographics

Degrees Awarded

Ph.D. Tuition (US$ in FTEs)

In State: 
Out of State: 
Number of Required Courses: 

Ph.D. Program Entry Requirements

Writing Sample: 
Minimum GPA Required?: 
Letters of Recommendation: 
GRE Required?: 
TOEFL Required?: 
Other Requirements: 
Statement of Intent


Student Demographics

Master's Tuition (US$ in FTEs)

Number of Required Courses: 

Master's Program Entry Requirements

Transcripts Required?: 
Writing SampleRequired?: 
GRE Required?: 
GPA Required?: 
TOEFL Required?: 
Other Requirements: 

Types of Master's

Terminal Master's: 
Non-Terminal Master's: 


Summary of PhD Students 2019

Summary of PhD Students 2018

Summary of Ph.D. Students, 2017

Summary of Ph.D. Students, 2016

Summary of Ph.D. Students, 2011 - 2015

Summary of Master's Students, 2011 - 2015